Archive

1985 Jul 4 - 1989 Feb 28
Prime Ministerial Private Office files

PREM19/2609
Cyprus (Internal situation: UK/Cyprus relations) (Part 3)

Document type: File list item
Source: TNA, PREM19 series
Release date: 2017 Jul 20
Classification: Secret
Page count: 295
Any docs withheld? 2

Selections from this file

Showing items 1 - 20 of 111

Per page:
Date Valuesort descending Title
85 Sep 25 Wed Cyprus: UKMIS New York telegram 761 to FCO (1840Z) ("Secretary of State's Meeting with Halefoglu, 25 September") [Halefoglu 'slightly more forthcoming in tone about Cyprus'] [declassified Jul 2017]
85 Dec 9 Mon Cyprus: UKHC Nicosia telegram 390 to FCO (2000Z) ("Greek Cypriot General Elections") [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Feb 4 Tue Cyprus: UKMIS New York telegram 115 to FCO (0045Z) ("Cyprus: UN Secretary General's Initiative") [Soviet proposal 'old wine in new bottles'] [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Feb 26 Wed Cyprus: UKMIS New York telegram 213 to FCO (2130Z) ("Cyprus") [progess of negotiations] [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Apr 10 Thu Cyprus: UKMIS New York telegram 346 to FCO (0020Z) ("Cyprus") [Perez de Cuellar 'extremely grateful' to MT for her support] [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Apr 11 Fri Cyprus: UKMIS New York telegram 356 to FCO (2301Z) ("Cyprus") [Perez de Cuellar asking for MT's urgent help] [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Apr 22 Tue Cyprus: UKMIS New York telegram 403 to FCO (2101Z) ("Cyprus: UN Secretary-General's Initiative") [intends to play things in low key] [declassified Jul 2017]
86 May 8 Thu Cyprus: UKMIS New York telegram 461 to FCO (0015Z) ("Cyprus: Secretary-General's Initiative") [intends to treat Kyprianou's response as a bluff and seek to call it] [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Sep 27 Sat Cyprus: UKMIS New York telegram 952 to FCO (0040Z) ("Cyprus") [Secretary-General has a 'very difficult time with President Kyprianou'] [declassified Jul 2017]
88 May 31 Tue Cyprus: UKMIS New York telegram 679 to FCO (2230Z) ("Cyprus: Vassiliou's Call on the Secretary-General") [declassified Jul 2017]
88 Jun 7 Tue Cyprus: UKMIS New York telegram 716 to FCO (2230Z) ("Cyprus: UN Secretary-General's Initiative") ['perplexed by an apparent hardening of the Turkish position'] [declassified Jul 2017]
88 Jul 14 Thu Cyprus: UKMIS New York telegram 841 to FCO (2225Z) ("Cyprus: UN Secretary-General's Initiative") [lunch with Vassiliou] [declassified Jul 2017]
89 Feb 23 Thu Cyprus: UKMIS New York telegram 248 to FCO (0010Z) ("Cyprus") [first reactions to the Secretary-General's initiative: pessimistic outcome] [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Mar 27 Thu Cyprus: UKHC Nicosia telegram 107 to FCO (1130Z) ("Call on Kyprianou") [nervous about the content of the UN Secretary General's new document] [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Apr 9 Wed Cyprus: UKHC Nicosia telegram 118 to FCO (1000Z) ("Prime Minister's Meeting with President Kyprianou") [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Apr 14 Mon Cyprus: UKHC Nicosia telegram 132 to FCO (0710Z) ("Cyprus") [British as an intermediary] [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Apr 21 Mon Cyprus: UKHC Nicosia telegram 147 to FCO (1030Z) ("Cyprus: UN Secretary General's Initiative") [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Apr 22 Tue Cyprus: UKHC Nicosia telegram 150 to FCO (0830Z) (President Kyprianou letter for MT) [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Apr 22 Tue Cyprus: UKHC Nicosia telegram 152 to FCO (1130Z) ("UN Secretary General's Initiative") [position 'not as bad as it might have been'] [declassified Jul 2017]
86 Apr 29 Tue Cyprus: UKHC Nicosia telegram 162 to FCO (1350Z) ("Cyprus: Secretary General's Initiative") [declassified Jul 2017]