Archive

1983 Jan 24 - 1984 Dec 21
Prime Ministerial Private Office files

PREM19/1268
Housing (Housing policy; Housing and Building Control Bill; housing defects; council house sales) (Part 4)

Document type: File list item
Source: TNA, PREM19 series
Release date: 2014 Jan 3
Classification: Confidential
Page count: 313
Any docs withheld? No

Selections from this file

Showing items 1 - 20 of 28

Per page:
Date Value Title
83 Jan 24 Mon Housing: John Stanley PS letter to No.10 (shared-ownership scheme) [details of launch & description of scheme] [declassified Jan 2014]
83 Feb 1 Tue Housing: No.10 Policy Unit minute to MT ("The Right to Repair and the Right to Buy") [John Stanley asks MT to intercede over his proposed amendments to Housing and Building Control Bill] [declassified Jan 2014]
83 Feb 4 Fri Housing: Whitelaw minute to MT ("Housing and Building Control Bill") [amendments] [declassified Jan 2014]
83 Mar 10 Thu Housing: Tom King letter to Whitelaw (Housing Bill) [need for legislation to address defective system-built housing] [declassified Jan 2014]
83 Apr 14 Thu Housing: Tim Flesher minute to MT ("H Committee: Planning Policies for Second Homes") [Tom King/Edwards dispute over limitation of new dwellings occupation to people working locally] [declassified Jan 2014]
83 Jul 6 Wed Housing: Tim Flesher minute to MT ("H Committee: Housing and Building Control Bill") [further extensions to the right to buy] [declassified Jan 2014]
83 Oct 13 Thu Housing: Jenkin PS letter to No.10 ("Home Improvement Grants") [announcement "that the special higher rates... will not be continued"] [declassified Jan 2014]
83 Dec 7 Wed Housing: No.10 Policy Unit minute to MT ("Capital Allowances for Shared Ownership in the Private Sector") [Treasury resistant to proposal] [declassified Jan 2014]
84 Jan 5 Thu Housing: Cabinet Office minute ("Management of Private Sector Blocks of Flats") [nomination of John Wheeler MP for committee] [declassified Jan 2014]
84 Jan 10 Tue Housing: David Barclay minute to MT ("Housing Policy") ["You asked us to check what the Manifesto said"] [declassified Jan 2014]
84 Jan 25 Wed Housing: Gow letter to MT ("Defective Housing") [private sector] [declassified Jan 2014]
84 Jan 27 Fri Housing: Andrew Turnbull minute to MT (defective housing) [private sector] [declassified Jan 2014]
84 Feb 2 Thu Housing: Solicitor General letter to MT ("Defective Housing") [private sector] [declassified Jan 2014]
84 Feb 8 Wed Housing: Jenkin PS letter to No.10 ("Draft Circulars on Green Belts and Land for Housing") [revised drafts; press release] [declassified Jan 2014]
84 Mar 1 Thu Housing: W.N. Stott minute to Gow PS ("Housebuilding: January 1984; Renovations: 1983") [statistics; press notice] [declassified Jan 2014]
84 Mar 21 Wed Housing: Rees letter to Younger ("Supply Side Measures: Housing; Housing and Building Control Bill; Tenants' Rights Etc (Scotland) Amendment Bill") [Scottish legislation; Scottish purchasers] [declassified Jan 2014]
84 Apr 27 Fri Housing: Gow PS letter to No.10 (Housing and Building Control Bill) [elderly persons' dwellings in rural areas] [declassified Jan 2014]
84 Jun 5 Tue Housing: Andrew Turnbull minute to MT (Housing Defects Bill) [private sector] [declassified Jan 2014]
84 Jul 17 Tue Housing: Gow PS letter to No.10 ("Housing and Building Control Act 1984") [publicity for new provisions on Right to Buy & tenants' rights] [declassified Jan 2014]
84 Jul 20 Fri Housing: No.10 Policy Unit minute to Andrew Turnbull ("Derelict Land and Urban Housing") [comments on Dept of Environment response to No.10 proposals on speeding up sale of derelict land & unoccupied housing] [declassified Jan 2014]