Archive

1981 Nov 17 - 1982 Feb 26
Prime Ministerial Private Office files

PREM19/694
Defence (UK Strategic Nuclear Deterrent) (Part 4)

Document type: File list item
Source: TNA, PREM19 series
Release date: 2012 Dec 28
Classification: Top Secret
Page count: 154
Any docs withheld? No

Selections from this file

Showing items 1 - 15 of 15

  • Previous
  • Next
Per page:
Date Value Title
81 Nov 23 Mon Defence: Armstrong briefing for MT ("The United Kingdom Strategic Deterrent (MISC 7(81) 1)") [Trident D5 missiles] [declassified 2012]
81 Dec 11 Fri Defence: Nott minute to MT ("British Underground Nuclear Test") [declassified 2012]
82 Jan 11 Mon Defence: Armstrong minute to MT ("MISC 7: Trident: Negotiations with the Americans") [Trident D5 missiles] [declassified 2012]
82 Jan 19 Tue Defence: Armstrong minute to MT ("Trident") [Trident D5 missiles: Cabinet speaking note and draft message to Reagan] [declassified 2012]
82 Jan 21 Thu Defence: MT letter to Reagan (Trident D5 missiles) [UK would like to buy Trident D5 missiles] [declassified 2012]
82 Feb 1 Mon Defence: MT letter to Reagan (Trident D5 missiles) [UK would like to buy Trident D5 missiles: arrangements for talks in Washington] [declassified 2012]
82 Feb 10 Wed Defence: MOD letter to No.10 ("United Kingdom Trident Programme") [declassified 2012]
82 Feb 12 Fri Defence: Wade-Gery minute to MT ("Trident") [report of negotiations with US for purchase of Trident D5 missiles] [declassified 2012]
82 Feb 15 Mon Defence: Coles letter to Wade-Gery ("Trident") [MT's response to report of negotiations with US for purchase of Trident D5 missiles: MT is "personally very disturbed" by US position on R&D levy] [declassified 2012]
82 Feb 15 Mon Defence: Nott minute to MT ("British Nuclear Test Programme") [preparations for next test] [declassified 2012]
82 Feb 22 Mon Defence: Wade-Gery minute to Coles ("Trident: Procedure") [procedure for finalising and announcing UK purchase of Trident D5 missiles] [declassified 2012]
82 Feb 23 Tue Defence: No.10 letter to Cabinet Office ("Trident: Procedure") [procedure for finalising and announcing UK purchase of Trident D5 missiles] [declassified 2012]
82 Feb 24 Wed Defence: FCO telegram 341 to UKE Washington (1315Z) ("Trident") [purchase of Trident D5 missiles from US: US interest in HMS Invincible] [declassified 2012]
82 Feb 25 Thu Defence: UKE Washington telegram 611 to FCO (0040Z) ("Trident") [purchase of Trident D5 missiles from US: progress of negotiations] [declassified 2012]
82 Feb 26 Fri Defence: Wade-Gery minute to Coles ("Trident") [purchase of Trident D5 missiles from US: progress of negotiations] [declassified 2012]