Archive

1980 Jun 12 - 1985 Oct 9
Prime Ministerial Private Office files

PREM19/1414
Aerospace (UK-Hong Kong air services licensing appeal: demise of Laker Airways; Hong Kong-Australia Air Services Agreement)

Document type: File list item
Source: TNA, PREM19 series
Release date: 2014 Dec 30
Classification: Secret
Page count: 184
Any docs withheld? No

Selections from this file

Showing items 1 - 20 of 21

Per page:
Datesort descending Value Title
80 Jun 13 Fri Aerospace: No.10 minute to MT (London-Hong Kong Air Service: Nott’s announcement) [declassified 2014]
80 Dec 18 Thu Aerospace: Sultan Bin Mohammed al Qasimi letter to MT (the proposed London-Sharjah air service) [declassified 2014]
80 Dec 21 Sun Aerospace: UKE Dubai to FCO (“London-Gulf-Hong Kong Air Services”) [Laker Airways proposal] [declassified 2014]
81 Jan 7 Wed Aerospace: FCO record of conversation (Douglas Hurd-Shaikh Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi) [Iran-Iraq, oil and gas discoveries in Sharjah, London-Sharjah air services] [declassified 2014]
81 Jan 22 Thu Aerospace: MT letter to Shaikh Sultan Al Qasimi (Laker Airways' service between London and Sharjah) [declassified 2014]
81 Jun 10 Wed Aerospace: Biffen minute to MT (“Air Services between London and Hong Kong”) [declassified 2014]
81 Jun 19 Fri Aerospace: Carrington minute to MT (“Air Services between London and Hong Kong”) [John Biffen’ s conclusions] [declassified 2014]
81 Jul 2 Thu Aerospace: Freddie Laker letter to MT (Laker Airways difficulties: London-Hong Kong air licence) [declassified 2014]
81 Jul 17 Fri Aerospace: MT letter to Freddie Laker (the London-Hong Kong air route decision) [declassified 2014]
81 Aug 7 Fri Aerospace: Freddie Laker letter to MT (the London-Hong Kong air route decision) [declassified 2014]
81 Nov 11 Wed Aerospace: Department of Trade minute to MT (“Laker Airways”) [recent developments] [declassified 2014]
81 Nov 17 Tue Aerospace: Chancellor of the Exchequer minute to MT (“Laker Airways”) [Government’s assistance] [declassified 2014]
81 Nov 25 Wed Aerospace: Jenkin minute to MT (“Laker: Airbus”) [proposal for a sale and lease-back agreement] [declassified 2014]
81 Nov 26 Thu Aerospace: Biffen minute to MT (“Laker Airways”) [a private sector solution, Government assistance, the preferred course] [declassified 2014]
81 Dec 2 Wed Aerospace: Jenkin minute to MT (“Laker Airways”) [comments on Biffen’s suggestions for saving the company] [declassified 2014]
81 Dec 11 Fri Aerospace: No.10 minute to MT (“Laker”) [in view of traffic collapse MT no longer insisting a way must be found to save it] [declassified 2014]
81 Dec 11 Fri Aerospace: Department of Trade minute to MT (Laker Airways financial problems) [declassified 2014]
81 Dec 14 Mon Aerospace: Biffen minute to MT (“Laker Airways”) [situation and possible solutions] [declassified 2014]
81 Dec 22 Tue Aerospace: Jonathan Rees minute to No.10 (“Laker Airways”) [a private sector solution] [declassified 2014]
82 Feb 1 Mon Aerospace: Under-Secretary of State for Trade minute to No.10 (“Laker Airways”) [company’s debt and possible solutions to the problem] [declassified 2014]