Archive

1982 Oct 13 - 1984 Oct 22
Prime Ministerial Private Office files

PREM19/1315
Middle East (Arms sales and military assistance to Middle Eastern countries) (Part 3)

Document type: File list item
Source: TNA, PREM19 series
Release date: 2014 Sep 29
Classification: Secret
Page count: 375
Any docs withheld? No

Selections from this file

Showing items 1 - 20 of 44

Per page:
Date Value Title
84 Oct 22 Mon Middle East: UKE Washington telegram 3147 to FCO (1906Z) (“Defence Sales to Iran”) [declassified 2014]
84 Jul 2 Mon Middle East: UKE Washington telegram 2342 to FCO (2330Z) (“Release of Military Spares to Iran”) [declassified 2014]
84 Jul 25 Wed Middle East: Howe minute to MT (“Iran: Supply of Defence Equipment”) [delivery of the Yarrow ships and tank spares] [declassified 2014]
84 Jul 18 Wed Middle East: UKE Muscat to FCO (“Prime Minister’s Message”) [deployment of the Nimrod aircraft to Oman] [declassified 2014]
84 Jul 11 Wed Middle East: No.10 minute to MT (“Supply of Defence Equipment to Syria”) [“You were sceptical … You were quiet right” Heseltine & Howe minutes] [declassified 2014]
84 May 24 Thu Middle East: No.10 minute to MT (“Supply of Defence Equipment to Syria”) [reactions to Syrian request] [declassified 2014]
84 May 8 Tue Middle East: UKE Damascus to FCO (“Defence Sales to Syria”) [Syrian Defence Minister’s request] [declassified 2014]
84 May 3 Thu Middle East: Howe telegram 826 to UKE Washington (1600Z) (“Arms Sales to Iran”) [“we do not like ‘being bad mouthed’ by the Americans”] [declassified 2014]
84 Apr 11 Wed Middle East: UKE Muscat to FCO (“Gulf Contingency Planning: Omani Reactions”) [declassified 2014]
84 Apr 5 Thu Middle East: Heseltine minute to MT (Arms supply request from Syrian Minister of Defence) [declassified 2014]
84 Mar 27 Tue Middle East: UKE Paris to FCO (“France-Lebanon”) [French army in Beirut] [declassified 2014]
84 Mar 26 Mon Middle East: UKE Abu Dhabi to FCO (“UK Defence Assistance to the UAE”) [Shaikh Zaid’s message to MT] [declassified 2014]
84 Mar 23 Fri Middle East: MOD minute to Howe (“Supply of Naval Equipment to Iran”) [decision on the export licence] [declassified 2014]
84 Feb 23 Thu Middle East: UKBIS telegram to FCO (“Defence Industry Contracts”) [revisions and amendments] [declassified 2014]
84 Feb 23 Thu Middle East: UKE Washington telegram 618 to FCO (1850Z) (“Arms Sales to Iran”) [US concerns] [declassified 2014]
84 Feb 13 Mon Middle East: MOD minute to No.10 (“Arms Sales to Saudi Arabia”) [the French-Saudi Arabia arms deals and the British sales prospects] [declassified 2014]
84 Feb 7 Tue Middle East: MT letter to Shaikh Zaid (British defence assistance to the UAE) [declassified 2014]
84 Feb 1 Wed Middle East: Robert Armstrong minute to MT (Deployment of British Gound Forces to the Gulf area) [declassified 2014]
84 Jan 29 Sun Middle East: Turnbull minute to MT (“Anti-Riot Training for the Saudi National Guard”) [declassified 2014]
84 Jan 27 Fri Middle East: No.10 minute to MT (“Anti-Riot Training for the Saudi National Guard”) [declassified 2014]