Archive

1983 Jan 25 - 1983 Nov 23
Prime Ministerial Private Office files

PREM19/973
Defence (Arms control) (Part 4)

Document type: File list item
Source: TNA, PREM19 series
Release date: 2013 Aug 1
Classification: Top Secret UK Eyes A
Page count: 261
Any docs withheld? No

Selections from this file

Showing items 1 - 20 of 30

Per page:
Date Value Title
83 Nov 23 Wed Defence: No.10 Press Office briefing (“Soviet Union and INF talks”) [“Press Line”] [declassified 2013]
83 Nov 22 Tue Defence: Lord Thomas letter to MT (“Nuclear disarmament”) [proposal to internationalise all nuclear energy] [declassified 2013]
83 Nov 22 Tue Defence: Heseltine PS letter to Whitelaw PS (reductions in NATO’s nuclear stockpile) [briefing note] [declassified 2013]
83 Nov 11 Fri Defence: Cabinet Office minute to No.10 (“Arms control and disarmament”) [MT presses for Ministerial meeting] [declassified 2013]
83 Oct 27 Thu Defence: UKHC Ottawa telegram to FCO (“Disarmament negotiations: Canadian position on French and British missiles”) [declassified 2013]
83 Oct 24 Mon Defence: President Reagan letter to MT (Nuclear Planning Group) [reduction of stockpile] [declassified 2013]
83 Oct 21 Fri Defence: Heseltine minute to MT (“High Level Group Report”) [reduction of nuclear stockpile] [declassified 2013]
83 Oct 17 Mon Defence: UKE Bonn telegram to FCO (“Genscher/Gromyko talks, Vienna, 16-17 October”) [nuclear arms] [declassified 2013]
83 Oct 11 Tue Defence: Cabinet Office minute to MT (“Arms control and disarmament”) [MT requests paper on latest position and advice on scope for British initiative] [declassified 2013]
83 Oct 4 Tue Defence: UKE Washington telegram 2867 to FCO (2210Z) (Arms control and disarmament) [reduction in nuclear stockpile] [declassified 2013]
83 Oct 3 Mon Defence: Cabinet Office minute to No.10 (Arms control and disarmament) [agenda & programme of work; sub-committee] [declassified 2013]
83 Sep 23 Fri Defence: Ministry of Defence briefing to No.10 (“Prime Minister’s visit to Canada and the United States”) [US chemical warfare capability] [declassified 2013]
83 Sep 21 Wed Defence: FCO briefing to No.10 (“MBFR”) [Mutual and Balanced Force Reductions: negotiations deadlock] [declassified 2013]
83 Sep 9 Fri Defence: No.10 record of conversation (MT, Howe, Heseltine, Baroness Young, Richard Luce, Antony Acland, John Stanley and others) [“Policy on arms control and disarmament”] [declassified 2013]
83 Jul 28 Thu Defence: UKDEL NATO telegram 6 to UKE Washington (1220Z) (“Rowny’s visit to London”) [arms control and disarmament] [declassified 2013]
83 Jun 10 Fri Defence: UKE Washington telegram 1612 to FCO (2130Z) (“US policies on arms control”) [“balance… has shifted in favour of… a new strategic arms agreement”] [declassified 2013]
83 Jun 10 Fri Defence: UKE Moscow telegram to FCO (“START”) [Soviet response to Reagan announcement] [declassified 2013]
83 Jun 10 Fri Defence: UKE Moscow telegram to FCO (“Strategic arms control: change to US START proposals”) [declassified 2013]
83 Apr 18 Mon Defence: UKE Tokyo telegram to FCO (“INF and Japan”) [arms control and disarmament] [declassified 2013]
83 Apr 5 Tue Defence: Cabinet Office minute to No.10 (“The Soviet attitude to arms control and disarmament”) [declassified 2013]