Archive

1979 May 21 - 1979 Dec 15
Prime Ministerial Private Office files

PREM19/14
Defence (UK Strategic Nuclear Deterrent) (Part 1)

Document type: File list item
Source: TNA, PREM19 series
Release date: 2013 Sep 24
Classification: Top Secret
Page count: 177
Any docs withheld? No

Selections from this file

Showing items 1 - 13 of 13

  • Previous
  • Next
Per page:
Date Valuesort descending Title
79 Dec 3 Mon Defence: Pym minute to MT (“The strategic deterrent”) [Polaris successor: “Trident is clearly the best buy”] [declassified 2013]
79 Nov 2 Fri Defence: Cabinet Office minute to MT (“Future of the strategic deterrent”) [“key meeting… decisions will affect… defence over the next 40 years”] [declassified 2013]
79 Nov 2 Fri Defence: Cabinet Office minute to MT (‘Guardian’ article on replacement of Polaris) [proposed inquiry into press leak] [declassified 2013]
79 Nov 1 Thu Defence: Pym minute to MT (“Chevaline”) [production delays] [declassified 2013]
79 Oct 29 Mon Defence: Cabinet Office minute to MT (“Future of the strategic deterrent”) [replacement of Polaris] [declassified 2013]
79 Oct 22 Mon Defence: MT letter to President Carter (modernisation of the UK nuclear strategic deterrent) [replacement of Polaris] [declassified 2013]
79 Oct 18 Thu Defence: Cabinet Office record of conversation (“Polaris replacement: Dr. Aaron’s visit”) [Wade-Gery, David Aaron] [declassified 2013]
79 Oct 5 Fri Defence: Pym minute to MT (“Amendment of the 1958 US/UK nuclear defence agreement”) [declassified 2013]
79 Sep 18 Tue Defence: Cabinet Office minute to MT (“MISC 7: future of the United Kingdom strategic nuclear force”) [discussions with US] [declassified 2013]
79 Sep 17 Mon Defence: Pym minute to MT (“Nuclear warhead programme”) [“major problems of resources”] [declassified 2013]
79 Jul 6 Fri Defence: Pym minute to MT (“British nuclear test programme”) [implications of Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty negotiations] [declassified 2013]
79 Jun 22 Fri Defence: Cabinet Office briefing for MT (“Meeting with President Carter”) [Economic Summit, Tokyo] [declassified 2013]
79 May 21 Mon Defence: Cabinet Office record of conversation (“Talk with Dr. Brzezinski”) [John Hunt: nuclear policy] [declassified 2013]